The AA Board is responsible for the active management and oversight of the Advertising Association. It directs policy, manages budgets and sets the agenda for the organisation’s Executive.

James Murphy, Chairman

James became Advertising Association Chairman in June 2015, succeeding Cilla Snowball CBE. He is the founder and CEO of adam&eveDDB. Previously, James was Managing Director, then CEO, of Rainey Kelly where he oversaw its merger with Y&R before setting up adam&eve in 2008.

Following it’s acquisition by Omnicom in 2012, adam&eveDDB has emerged as a leading UK creative business, and was named 2014 Agency of the Year at the Cannes Festival of Creativity.

Kelly Williams, Vice-Chair

Kelly joined ITV in August, 2011 as Group Commercial Director and was promoted to the Management Board as Managing Director of Commercial in December, 2014. He is Chairman of Thinkbox, the marketing body for commercial TV and sits on the BARB Strategy Board.

Before joining ITV, Kelly was Sales Director at Channel 5 and prior to that held various positions at UKTV, Sky and Thames Television.

Sue Garrard, Vice-Chair

Sue is SVP Sustainable Business and Communications at Unilever. She is responsible for driving Unilever’s sustainable business model and embedding sustainability into the business; building the Global Communications strategy and delivery of Communications to enhance Unilever’s global business. She is a member of the CEO’s leadership forum, which sets forward looking strategy and plans for the business.

Previous to her work at Unilever, Sue was DG, Customer Strategy, Marketing and Communications at DWP, and sat on the department’s Executive team. Sue’s life prior to DWP was spent in advertising and public affairs. She was a board account director at both Fishburn-Hedges and previously Abbott Mead Vickers, having started her advertising career at Young & Rubicam, after six years in the civil service.

Stephen Woodford, Chief Executive

Stephen was appointed CEO of the Advertising Association in September 2016. Having held management roles in three agencies (Leo Burnett, WCRS/Engine and DDB/adam&eveDDB), Stephen currently chairs youth marketing agency Livity, a social purpose-driven business that seeks to transform young peoples’ lives, especially from BAME backgrounds. He was recently Chairman of Lexis PR and a founder and director of U, a challenger to conventional banks.  Stephen is a past President of NABS and serves on the board of the History of Advertising Trust. He was IPA President (2003-05) where he led both their first ethnic diversity initiative and transformed its professional qualifications for new industry entrants, which over 15,000 people have now sat and passed.


Phil Smith, Director General, ISBA
Barry McIlheney, Chief Executive, Professional Publishers Association
David Newell, Chief Executive, News Media Association
Paul Bainsfair, Director General, IPA
Saj Manzoor, Chief Financial Officer, McCann London (AA Honorary Treasurer)
Chris Combemale, Executive Director, Direct Marketing Association
Jon Mew, Chief Executive, Internet Advertising Bureau
Siobhan Kenny, Chief Executive, RadioCentre
Kathryn Jacob, President, Cinema Advertising Association
Ronan Harris, Managing Director, Google UK & Ireland



board James Murphy tim lefroy